Other Articles by Bob Ladewig

Features

MUSIC

 » Faint, The - Having been disappointed by their latest album Fasciinatiion, which was released on Tuesday, LAS staff writer Bob Ladewig met up with Omaha's ruling dance-punk icons last weekend as the group kicked off a world tour that will carry them through the end of 2008, to see if the live show was still legit.
[08.07.2008 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » Bishop Allen: LIVE - You never really know what to expect at a summertime all-ages show in Chicago. You just don't. Bob Ladewig knows that shows often start late and usually end late, and he can also verify that they can on time and end early as well.
[07.09.2007 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » !!! - "We all bring something different and special to the band, but the one thing that has always attracted us is the groove or the funk, and that's always been the uniting force." Bob Ladewig interviews Nic Offer.
[05.30.2007 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » !!!: Live - Last week in Chicago, the indie/dance/funk/rock troupe with the weird name book-ended one hour and fifteen minutes of insanity with the title track from their latest album and a favorite from their 2001 debut.
[05.30.2007 by Bob Ladewig]

PROFILES

 » 15 Minutes: Call Me Lightning - In our regularly recurring feature, LAS embarks on a series of quick interviews with people, but without the point of necessarily knowing anything deep about them. This time around Bob Ladewig chats up Nathan Lilley.
[02.13.2007 by Bob Ladewig]

PROFILES

 » 15 Minutes: Bears - With 15M, LAS embarks on a series of quick interviews with people, but without necessarily knowing anything deep about them. This installment: Charlie McArthur of Bears.
[09.05.2006 by Bob Ladewig]

PROFILES

 » 15 Minutes: John Vanderslice - With 15M, LAS embarks on a series of quick interviews with people, but without necessarily knowing anything deep about them. This installment: John Vanderslice.
[08.22.2006 by Bob Ladewig]

PROFILES

 » 15 Minutes: The Extraordinaires - With 15M, LAS embarks on a series of quick interviews with people, but without necessarily knowing anything deep about them. This installment: Jay Purdy of the Extraordinaires.
[08.07.2006 by Bob Ladewig]

PROFILES

 » 15 Minutes: Arms - With 15M, LAS embarks on a series of quick interviews with people, but without necessarily knowing anything deep about them. This installment: Todd Goldstein (aka Arms).
[07.31.2006 by Bob Ladewig]

PROFILES

 » Eugene Mirman - "What I would ideally want is probably something no one would ideally put on. The audience would battle maybe. But not really. I'm actually sure it would work out fine." Stacey Hallal and Bob Ladewig talk about tours with Eugine Mirman.
[06.13.2006 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » Robbers On High Street - Stopping through Chicago on his band's third round of shows in support of their debut album, Robbers on High Street front man Ben Trokan took a few moments to chat with Bob Ladewig about touring, James Iha and, well, touring.
[11.16.2005 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » Q and Not U: LIVE - Having recently opened for Interpol on a short US Tour, the politically charged DC trio is working hard and changing up their usual routine, trying to appeal to a different crowd.
[04.01.2005 by Bob Ladewig]

LIFE

 » Playing At Work - LAS staff writer Bob Ladewig extols on the wonders of his everyday life and the perks of being in the right place at the right time and being, in his words, a run-around sort of guy.
[12.03.2004 by Bob Ladewig]

COLUMN

 » Forgotten Favorites - Reminiscing about his early hip-hop education, Bob Ladewig speaks the truth about Deltron 3030's eponymous album
[11.09.2004 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » Call Me Lightning - Two members of the most unusual addition to the Revelation Records roster sit down with Bob Ladewig to explain the dynamics of spending time together and spending time apart, being 19 and pissed at the world, and The Who.
[11.03.2004 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » John Vanderslice - A look back at LAS staff writer Bob Ladewig's 2004 interview with the San Francisco lo-fi guru, a conversation on the crowds of Japan, the disappointment of MK Ultra, and not wasting creative energy on recording other people's music.
[10.18.2004 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » Mates of State - A day after his birthday, LAS staff writer Bob Ladewig treated himself to some face time with Kori Gardner and Jason Hammel. Over the course of the conversation the topic swung from television and card games to musical hit lists and the pair's time in San Francisco.
[06.10.2004 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » Decemberists - "We're finally getting used to one another. We have a flow now, being on tour and getting used to our routine and duties," says Rachel Blumberg of her band's ever-tightening sound. LAS writer Bob Ladewig caught up with Blumberg and the band before last week's two-night stand in Chicago.
[04.07.2004 by Bob Ladewig]

MUSIC

 » Decemberists - "When I start feeling the need for change I turn to my friends for recommendations, and that is how I stumbled upon the The Decemberists," writes LAS staffer Bob Ladewig of his recent obsession with the Portland band.
[05.29.2003 by Bob Ladewig]

SPORTS

 » ComedySportz - ComedySportz Chicago has recently changed the format of its short-form improv shows and the new setup seems to be coming along quite nicely. Sure, there are a few kinks that still need some working out, but that is probably expected.
[05.15.2003 by Bob Ladewig]

LITERATURE

 » Dirty Found #1 - Seeing photographs of people in compromising positions with their eyes blacked out by a censorship strip is a way of living out the voyeuristic urge that we're all hard-wired with, the dream of having the power of invisibility.
[04.01.2002 by Bob Ladewig]
Reviews
»Myth Takes
!!!
Warp
»Free the Bees
A Band of Bees
Astralwerks
»Good Mourning
Alkaline Trio
Vagrant Records
»The Mysterious Production of Eggs
Andrew Bird
Righteous Babe Records
»Shittly Little Disco
Arms
self-released
»Prayer+Pretend
Atari Star
Johann's Face Records
»Do You Like It?
Bang! Bang!
Self-Released
»Mirrored
Battles
Warp
»Find the Sun
Bear Claw
Sickroom Records
»Bears
Bears
self-released
»Gulag Orkestar
Beirut
Ba Da Bing!
»The Broken String
Bishop Allen
Dead Oceans
»Bloc Party EP
Bloc Party
Dim Mak Records
»Text_Bomb
Blueline Medic
Fueled by Ramen Records
»The Bronx
Bronx
White Drugs
»Love This Time
Buttless Chaps
Mint Records
»The Trouble We're In
Call Me Lightning
Revelation Records
»Soft Skeletons
Call Me Lightning
Frenchkiss
»Summer's End
Carte Blanche
Shmat Records
»A Rare Sensation
Chinese Stars
Three One G Records
»Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
Self-Released
»Nighttiming
Coconut Records
Young Baby
»Up In Rags
Cold War Kids
Monarchy Music
»The Cribs
Cribs
Wichita Recordings
»The Mouse and The Mask
DangerDoom
Epitaph Records
»Plans
Death Cab for Cutie
Atlantic Records
»Picaresque
Decemberists
Kill Rock Stars
»In Small Rooms
Disband
Ernest Jenning Record Co.
»Beauty and the Beat
Edan
Lewis Recordings
»The Evening Descends
Evangelicals
Dead Oceans
»Skeleton
Figurines
Control Group
»Film School
Film School
Beggars Banquet
»Proof of Impact
Forecast
Thinker Thought Records
»Data Is Not Information
Frantic Mantis
Lujo Records
»You Could Have It So Much Better
Franz Ferdinand
Domino Record Co.
»Random Harvest
Friends of Dean Martinez
Narnack Records
»The Silhouette
Garrison
Revelation Records
»The King Is Dead
Ghost Orchids
PrinceHouse Records
»Great Plains
Head of Femur
Greyday
»Heavenly States
Heavenly States
Future Farmer Recordings
»Written Axe to Trigger
Hospital Grade
Urinine Records
»Only Chimneys
Imaginary Johnny
Unfinished Side
»In the Reins
Iron & Wine/Calexico
Overcoat Records
»Arm's Way
Islands
Anti-
»With A Cape And A Cane
Joggers
Star Time International
»Pixel Revolt
John Vanderslice
Barsuk Records
»The Ministry of Archers
Joy Electric
Tooth & Nail Records
»Dragons are the New Pink
Julius Airwave
Sickroom Records
»Sound Of Silver
LCD Soundsystem
DFA
»Plagues and Snakes
Les Savy Fav
French Kiss
»Friend and Foe
Menomena
Barsuk
»The Trials of Van Occupanther
Midlake
Bella Union
»The Secondman's Middle Stand
Mike Watt
Columbia Records
»New Black
New Black
Thick Records
»Nouvelle Vague
Nouvelle Vague
Luaka Bop Records
»Satanic Panic in the Attic
Of Montreal
Polyvinyl Records
»Oh No! Oh My!
Oh No! Oh My!
self-released
»I Do Perceive
Owen
Polyvinyl Records
»I Do Perceive
Owen
Polyvinyl Records
»Power
Q And Not U
Dischord Records
»Jungles EP
Rahim
Frenchkiss Records
»Anyone in Love With You (already knows) DVD / CD
Rainer Maria
Polyvinyl Records
»My Room Is A Mess
Rob Crow
Absolutely Kosher Records
»Tree City
Robbers on High Street
New Line Records
»Grand Animals
Robbers On High Street
New Line
»Anywhere I Lay My Head
Scarlett Johansson
Atco
»Scissor Sisters
Scissor Sisters
Universal/Motown Records
»Leaving Sound
Seth Knappen
Future Appletree Records
»Marry Me
St. Vincent
Beggars Banquet
»Always Never Again
Supersystem
Touch and Go Records
»The Loon
Tapes 'N Tapes
self-released
»The Best Party Ever
The Boy Least Likely To
Too Young to Die Records
»Mega Breakfast
The Chap
Ghostly International
»Ribbons of War
The Extraordinaires
Punk Rock Payroll
»Fasciinatiion
The Faint
Blank.Wav
»The Magic Magicians
The Magic Magicians
Suicide Squeeze Records
»Your Favorite People All In One Place
The Medications
Dischord Records
»Phase Three
The Riverdales
1-4-5 Records
»Sting Sting Sting
The Sick Lipstick
Tiger Style Records
»You're My Lover Now
The Teeth
Park The Van
»More Deep Cuts
Thee More Shallows
Turn Records
»A Lesson In Crime
Tokyo Police Club
Paper Bag
»Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes
TV on the Radio
Touch & Go Records
»Vessel States
Wilderness
Jagjaguwar